The profile area Future Energy Systems involves scientists from 42 research groups and 10 departments.

Professors from engineering, natural sciences and humanities promote the interdisciplinary orientation and cooperation of the profile area.

Cooperation professorships strengthen the transfer and exchange of knowledge. They enable the expansion of a current and diverse range of courses as well as networking with external institutions from science and economy.


  Name Working area(s)
Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Anett-Maud JoppienDesigning and building technologies
Prof. Christoph Kuhn Design and sustainable building
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karsten TichelmannStructural engineering and building physics
  Name Working area(s)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Carl-Alexander GraubnerSolid Construction
Prof. Dr. Liselotte SchebekIndustrial Material Cycles
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens SchneiderStructural Mechanics and Design
  Name Working area(s)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas BinderElectrical Energy Conversion
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerd GriepentrogPower Electronics and Control of Drives
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jutta HansonElectrical Power Systems with Integration of Renewable Energies
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Volker HinrichsenHigh Voltage Technology
Prof. Dr. Sebastian Schöps
Computational Electromagnetics
Prof. Dr. Florian SteinkeEnergy Information Networks and Systems
  Name Working area(s)
Prof. Dr. Christian BeidlInternal combustion engines and vehicle drives
Prof. Dr. Andreas DreizlerReactive Flows and Diagnostics
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernd EppleEnergy Systems and Technology
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian HasseSimulation of reactive Thermo-Fluid Systems
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias OechsnerMaterials Technology
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter PelzFluid Systems Technology
Stephan Rinderknecht
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stephan RinderknechtMechatronic Systems
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter StephanTechnical Thermodynamics
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Weigold Production Management, Technology and Machine Tools

Natural Sciences

  Name Working area(s)
Prof. Dr. Barbara AlbertInorganic Solid State Chemistry
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bastian EtzoldTechnical Chemistry
Prof. Dr. Christian Hess Surface Chemistry and Spectroscopy
Prof. Dr. Vera Krewald Theoretical Inorganic Chemistry
Dr. Marc LedendeckerNanomaterials for sustainable energy conversion
Prof. Dr. Marcus RoseTechnical Chemistry II
  Name Working area(s)
Prof. Dr. Oliver GutfleischFunctional Materials
Prof. Dr. Jan Philipp Hofmann Surface Science
Prof. Dr. Wolfram JaegermannSurface Science
Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim KleebeGeomaterial Science
Prof. Dr. Andreas Klein Electronic Structure of Materials
Prof. Dr. Ulrike KrammCatalysts and Electrocatalysts
Prof. Dr. Ingo SassGeothermal Science and Technology
Prof. Dr. Anke Weidenkaff
  Name Working area(s)
Prof. Dr. Jens LangNumerical Analysis and Scientific Computing
Prof. Dr. Marc Pfetsch Discrete Optimisation
Prof. Dr. Stefan UlbrichNonlinear Optimization
  Name Working area(s)
Prof. Dr. Markus RothLaser and plasma physics


  Name Working area(s)
Prof. Dr. Michèle KnodtComparative Politics and European Integration
Prof. Dr. Kai SchulzeModels of Housing and Energy Policy
  Name Working area(s)
Prof. Dr. Anette von AhsenAccounting, controlling and auditing
Prof. Dr. Christoph Glock Production and Supply Chain Management
Prof. Dr. Schiereck DirkCorporate Finance
  Name Working area(s) Contact
Prof. Dr. Stefan NiessenMultimodal Energy Systems
+49 6151 16-21730
S3|10 309
Prof. Dr. Eva Schill
+49 6151 16-27345
B2|02 132
Prof. Dr. Martin Votsmeier
+49 6151 16-25580
L2|04 E1