The Profile Area Future Energy Systems is an interdisciplinary platform for energy-related research involving different departments at TU Darmstadt in order to take various perspectives into account. The profile area coordinates the numerous activities in energy science and is engaged in the complex transformation of our energy system by using an interdisciplinary approach.

Tasks and Tools

  • Platform for collaborative research initiatives:
    Brainstorming and strategy workshops help our scientists to form and maintain a network in order to develop new ideas and form consortia for new research initiatives.
  • Promotion of young researchers:
    The profile area's Graduate School of Excellence Energy Science and Engineering is an academic training centre for master students and doctoral candidates with a high international visibility
  • Transfer of knowledge:
    In collaboration with Beirat des TU Darmstadt Energy Center e.V., the profile area Future Energy Systems annually hosts the Darmstadt Energy Conference. In addition, it supports energy-related symposia and workshops. Beirat des TU Darmstadt Energy Center e.V. offers a link between the profile area's scientists and partners from politics and industry..
  • Visibility:
    The profile area serves as a contact for external inquiries and presents all available expertise to the public. It also represents the scientists' interests within the university.


The members of the Profile Area Future Energy Systems elect a spokesperson and two deputy spokespersons to represent the Profile Area in public. The members furthermore elect a spokespersons' council that consists of nine professors, one scientific member and three representatives of the doctoral students (two students from the Graduate School Energy Science and Engineering and one student from further institutes not involved in the graduate school).

Members of the spokespersons' council

Prof. Dr. Florian Steinke (spokesperson)
Prof. Dr. Michèle Knodt (deputy spokesperson)
Prof. Dr. Wolfram Jaegermann (deputy spokesperson)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Eberhard Abele
Prof. Dr. Barbara Albert
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jutta Hanson
Prof. Dipl.-Ing. M. Arch. Anett-Maud Joppien
Prof. Dr.-Ing Matthias Oechsner
Prof. Dr. Ingo Sass
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens Schneider
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rolf Katzenbach (retired, consulting member)
Dr. Jörg Kemmerzell (scientific member)
3 representatives of the doctoral candidates